top of page

Why I am passionate about being a STEM teacher

My passion for science began from childhood. My mother, a nurse by vocation, loved and still does, taking care of patients and her relatives.

I decided to complete my university studies in Biology and General Sciences in the area of Education. Once I finished my bachelor's degree I decided to explore my knowledge as a Peace Corps Volunteer, stationed in Guimaras Island, Philippines.

My first experience as an educator was wonderful, to be able to transmit my raw knowledge by integrating plastic arts. Seeing the results in my Filipino aboriginal students, learning with them a new world that would provide the satisfaction that I am currently living.

My formal experience as a STEM educator began in New York City in 2006. Then, I was recruited to teach Biology to an advanced level group of 8th graders in I.S. 143M Eleanor Roosevelt Middle School in the community of Washington Heights in Manhattan.

Teaching the unit of Genetics, I realized that I had to engage my students and avoid the classic middle school boredom syndrome. In a biology lab I decided to integrate my knowledge of art in the unit. I prepared a lesson with an overload of creativity to awaken the desire to learn Biology. We did the DNA model in a 3D structure. Yes, a challenge for me and my students, to prepare a lesson where I had to comply with the teaching Science/Biology Standards of the New York Department of Education and at the same time keep my students’ interest in learning Biology. Since then I integrate the artistic element using rubrics that my students understand. The main message is: you can learn Biology by integrating art to make it more engaging.

In 2016, I rediscovered STEM. Thus reaffirming my passion for Sciences. This time it is a more curricular, more structured way. Adding to this academic opportunity my commitment to teach exploring and highlighting it with the element of technology, engineering and mathematics.

I am opening doors to a new class for my McMurray Middle Prep of Nashville students with a desire to learn, and have the opportunity to create STEM leaders in a challenging future.

When I commenced introducing the Engineering Design Process (EDP) element and the 8 steps involved, much like the Science Method, my students were terrified of how they could learn in a class with the purpose to train middle school students thinking as engineers and scrutinize their brains to seek solutions to the problems I presented.

I accepted this challenge because I have the knowledge, passion, desire and confidence to prepare future professionals. Also sharing my hope for a world that needs them to improve the educational, social and diversified environment that surrounds them. These are my students from McMurray Middle Prep of Nashville. I could not be prouder!

A key element is the support of an excellent administration that believes in Mr. Calderon. They know I can prepare the next engineers, architects, structural designers, artists, mechanics, programmers in the areas of Sciences and Mathematics and one of the end results will be quality of life, full of pride.

What it means to be a Master of STEM? I do empower the critical knowledge of my students where I learn from them and they help me prepare to continue linking their lives to a better competitive future.

NOTE: I WISH TO EXPRESS PUBLICLY -- PATIENCE, LOVE AND TOLERANCE FROM MY BELOVED SISTER IS THE ENGINE THAT LED ME TO REALIZE I MUST SHARE WITH YOU BLOGGERS AND READERS MY STEM DISCOVERIES…

OK... STOP CRYING!!! HEHEHEHE I LOVE YOU SIS’!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page