top of page

Engaging our 8th Grade Scholars

I am committed to find alternatives to make sure my 8th Grade STEAM Scholars at Oliver Middle will respond to a new day for learning.

How? By using the 4 C's in an environment filled with structural challenges but not limiting myself to fulfill my mission. I am making sure the students will understand that STEAM is the way to open up their minds and realize their potential.

I divided the students in groups of 3.

All the instructions were on the board and on paper.

A leader was chosen for every group -- who guided presented options and shared the information.

The simple idea of designing and building bridges became the door opener to see my students responding to the call of duty and my request for leadership and responsibility.

Bridges are categorized into 3 primary types:

Suspension

Beam

Arch

Each design is built according to certain principles of engineering -- ideas, rules and concepts that need to be kept in mind when solving an engineering problem.

Keep the target user in mind when creating a product.

Bottomline -- it was an effective and refreshing day as an educator.

I thank my students and the administration for their support.

Videos:


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page