top of page

Hispanic Heritage Pride Celebration!

Goodlettsville Middle School organized an empowering and moving Hispanic Heritage gathering to

build Pride amongst its students and the community.

I was invited to be the Keynote Speaker/Orador. I asked these questions:

“WHO IS IN CHARGE OF YOUR DESTINY?”

“WHAT DO YOU NEED TO DO TO SHAPE YOUR FUTURE?”

“WHAT IS THE IMPORTANCE OF BEING BILINGUAL?”

“DO YOU HAVE A CIRCLE OF SUPPORT?”

“WHY IS SCHOOL IMPORTANT? ”

“WHY IS FAMILY IMPORTANT? ”

“WHAT IS THE IMPORTANCE OF HAVING FRIENDS? ”

“IN THE NEXT THREE MONTHS - WHAT CAN YOU DO TO SHOW TO YOUR COMMUNITY THAT YOU ARE PROUD TO BE HISPANIC? ”

As I answered each of these questions I was transported to my youth in Puerto Rico and the countless events that shaped my life. Family, sports, the community, my culture and art, from early on, built a sense of belonging and pride. I carry this with me at 54 years of age.

Every student in Metro Nashville Public Schools must build on that pride. I know that teachers are working super hard to build pride in their students so they acknowledge their potential.

Executive Principal Beatriz Salgado, I know you are committed to this and more.

Complete respect for every individual present... Particularly,

Maritza González, Ph.D.

Executive Director for Equity & Diversity

Division of Teaching & Learning - MNPS

JC Oden

Ashley Jackson - Dean of Instruction

and the rest of the staff who interacted with us and made us feel more than welcomed.

Thank you! Keep us inspired. Let's build more pride.

This gathering has even greater meaning because my sister Yadira V. Calderon joined us. She has lived in 6 countries, visited another 27, is fluent in 3 languages and can have fun in another 3. She was so passionate when she told the parents, grandparents and guardians:

"If your child tells you I want to go to China or France - don't say that's not possible. Tell your child, yes you will. We'll work hard and you will achieve your dreams. My mom did not have the means and she taught us to fight for our dreams. My life is a product of hard work and pride."

All of our students need to hear these positive messages everyday - life presents challenges, life can be hard but that will not stop any of us from achieving our dreams.

Videos:

** Thank you to Denise Rocha from Conexion Americas who facilitated the participation of the performers!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page