top of page

Proud to be an Engaged Educator...

Welcoming in our classroom a Tennessee Teacher of the Year reaffirms my belief in the power of engagement.

Ms. Cathy Pressnell was present, engaged and excited because she was learning new things. Yes, a new day for learning applies to each of us... We make that choice to learn something new and Cathy made our day.

The students were beyond spectacular - excited to be there... attentive, respectful, curious, applying the 4 C's, learning more about EDP (Engineering Design Process)... and Cathy was in the midst of the action.

Once a teacher... always a teacher...

Yes, Cathy Pressnell, TN Department of Education, Director of Educator Engagement

* 2015 Tennessee Teacher of the Year -

Discovers how entertaining and challenging Ozobots can be (thanks to Studio NPL - Nashville Public LIbrary)

Mrs. Pressnell asked how I did it?

I asked: What do you mean?

Cathy asked: "How do you pay attention to each student? How do you know what they need? How do you handle the challenges in the classroom?"

I responded: "Passion for teaching guides my days. I am worried about the students' needs. STEAM is demanding and I try to integrate all the lessons so the students' expectations are fulfilled.

The students ask everyday -- what are we going to do today?

I laugh -- if I tell them, it does not work...

I show, I guide and the students understand they need to use their problem solving skills!"

Mrs. Pressnell asked: What would you do 20 years ago with your present knowledge?

I asnwered: "I learned that community partnerships is one of the key resources that any teacher can use to support a learning process.

Plus, seek and generate more professional development opportunities."

The doors to our classroom will always be open to all wanting to share knowledge and a passion for education, fully engaged!

VIDEOS:

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page